Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey gang, I'm working on a sling bow project. I think I'd like to explore the idea of rigging it with tubes. I'm a flat band guy, but I think this slingbow lends itself to strong tubes. Any recommendations? This would be for target shooting only, but I'd still like to get as much power as I can. I plan to shoot standard 31" arrows.
Thanks in advance.
Oh I should say this slingbow has a six inch fork extension and has a seven inch fork gap. I'm using a drop away arrow rest instead of a whisker biscuit.

·
Registered
5,718 Posts
I love these thought problems. I'm not very good at answers though, but I'm pretty good at questions. What is your draw length compared to the arrow? Are you going to use a release? Do these factors add up to or exceed the length of the arrow? With this in mind, is the 6" extension necessary? With the drop away prop and a 7" fork gap, 3060 maybe a good choice. I would buy a couple each of some cheap arrows with different spines to see what works good. I think that a medium to stiff might work best. :twocents:

·
Registered
4,845 Posts
Hello buddy ! .. I have tries most kinds of tubes .. and some of the snappiest heavy tubes I have ever used were the green roylan.. aka dub dub tubes .. they are good .. perfect for slinging arrows ! .. also have used some thick (probably1.5..) natural latex ... those were really good .. hope this helps

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
9,883 Posts
I'd be keen to find out how spine related to a slingbow. Has anyone actually researched that as yet? I suspect it may be on par with a longbow...
We're going to try to work something out. Starting out with really light shafts with target nibs then work our way up. I would think that anything is going to be over spined, we'll see stay tuned.

·
Registered
2,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·