Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading and watching everything bill Hays says about TTF shooting I'm pretty confident that that's the way I'll always do most of my shooting. Aiming is relatively easy, hand slaps almost never happen, and it just seems to make sense to me. It also seems that RTS's are rare. OTT is obviously a viable way to shoot or so many people wouldn't use it and every sling maker wouldn't build them. I've done a few searches, but what's the primary reason you shoot OTT? Thanks in advance!

Charles

·
Registered
1,453 Posts
Hi, great question. I started shooting TTF and personally I didn't find it as accurate for my shooting Style. I have since switched to Ott and really like it. I use a fiber optic site either added to the very corner of my fork or it's has a adjustable rail that lets me move it to get my aim just right. One reason I've heard people like over the top better is that you don't lose the target when you make a long shot, with ttf you have to hold you're aiming point above the target which means you can't see the target. Not sure if that's really an issue for 20 meters or less but that's what I've heard. I also like the fact that's you can use natural Forks Over the Top much easier then with TTF.

I'm sure many people will tell you all the advantages of TTF but for me after trying it I'm an Ott all the way.

Good luck and I guess the only way you'll really know is if you try them both.

Cheers

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·