Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tried my hand at making my own 3d printed frames. Since I'm new to slingshots, I figured it would be best to follow more established designs than designing my own from scratch. This is a design by JaWu on Thingiverse, which appears to be a modified clone of the HTS slingshot found on Pocket Predator website. Anyways, trying to give credit where it is due. This was printed on a Anycubic Photon and I tied on a chinese bandset purchased off Amazon. The slingshot itself isn't the prettiest with some minor blemishes I haven't yet smoothed out, but it shoots well and is very comfortable to hold in a pinch grip. I just took delivery of a new impact-resistant resin that is more durable and hopefully tolerant of errant frame strikes.

I did order up a HTS from Pocket Predator just to support the original designer and to see how the real deal compares to a clone. So far, it's quite fun to see what designs are out there and being able to tweak things and see how they turn out. So far, my prints have been working out and I've tested out prints by tying a bowstring to the fork ends, standing in the frame grip, and pulling up as hard as I could to see if it would break. No breaks so far so that's good.

Attachments

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Super cool to see some others' prints! I haven't been trying to design my own yet since I don't know what I'm doing yet in terms of knowing what a proper slingshot needs, so I've just been looking for .stl files online and printing them. I'm currently shooting this design by a guy known as JaWu on Thingiverse who has a number of files available for download. He calls it the Mamba and I do rather like it. I've been adjusting the shape and contours with a Dremel to better fit my hand.