Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting 3/8" steel since I got started a few months ago. I've kind of settled on Sumeike .7 cut 22/12 at around 450%. I don't have a chronograph, but it hits hard at 10 and 20 yards, but with a pretty noticeable drop at 20 yards. I ordered a bunch of 5/16" steel to try to get a bit more velocity and hopefully a flatter trajectory. I have TBG, Sumeike .7, SS black .7, and a roll of BSB .6 that'll be here in a couple of days. Any starting point suggestions for a really fast bandset? I'm shooting to a cheek anchor at about 29" draw. Should I expect to see to see a big increase in speed and flatter shooting? Thanks in advance!

Charles

·
Registered
2,656 Posts
You will enjoy the 5/16" (8mm) steel. I shot 3/8" for a lot of years but switched to 7mm and 8mm to get more distance. During the summer months I usually shoot 20 yards but sometimes I'll go out to 30, 40 and 50 yards. With my low draw weight the 3/8" steel drops badly much beyond about 25 yards.

As was said, try the .70mm bands with 16 x 10. With the .60mm you could maybe try 18 x 10 or 18 x 12. I use 18 x 12 with .45mm BSB for 7mm steel.

·
aka CYBORG
1,940 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
I got my 5/16 steel and my roll of BSB .6. I cut a few sets of 18/12 at about 450%. I can't believe how smoking fast it is. I only shot at 10 yards, but I was impressed. I thought it might not cut cans as well as 3/8, but it turns out that it cuts more sharply and doesn't tend to bludgeon. I'm still pretty green, but I cut my first can with it in 21 shots. I also cut and tied a bunch of 16/10 bands for my nephews. I think they'll be able to pull into the 400% range with less effort and more fun. I really appreciate all the suggestions. Tgey were right on the money ????.

Charles

Textile Wood Tableware Cutlery Art

Tableware Kitchen utensil Cutlery Wood Rectangle

Wood Chair Tints and shades Art Flooring

Attachments

·