Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a student of history and ended up stuck with a bunch of huge sized body jewelry.

I'm a tattooer you know, so I end up with all manner of things. I have a Zippo from an old WW1 four piper destroyer's captain a guy's dad knew. I have a piece of a meteor from South America from a bazillion years ago; a back scratcher and big ball of ABC gum. And this is all tips.

I'm not a piercer. Never learned more than ears. But I got box in the mail from another tattooer with all this huge jewelry. I mean big stuff. I gave some away, some I kept as it's the good stuff from back when and then there are the barbells…

Known colloquially as a 'tongue ring'.

Thing is these are huge and basically 3/8th shot with a pretty solid piece of surgical stainless connecting them. 3/8ths is my go to. In case you wanna buy me something for my birthday.

Back when the Spanish were fighting the British who were fighting the French and pirates ruled the seas they had bar and chain shot. Chain was made to take down rigging. If you did that the ship was dead in the water. The bar shot… that was a little more anti-personnel but could be used to tear up rope and sail too.

I have seen examples at my local museum here in Florida. We have a lot of that sort of thing around. I'm sure there are far more in the ground to be found.

I'm sitting at my desk last night looking at bands for my Mega Lo Mart Daisy platform and the Hathcock I'm getting and it dawned on me that I had bar shot. I just sat there thinking about it for a second and realized I could use this stuff in my catch box and maybe come up with a little information about how it could work.

My question are the bands.