Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this. I used to use rocks as kid haha. I didn't want steel, glass or bbs all over the yard rusting away so I started using clay ammo. GZK about tore me a new one saying not to use clay" it can ruing bands and is too light". I'm using 10mm-13mm clay ammo.

For hunting I get the advantage of steel or lead over clay. Makes sense. Let's try to keep this about target use please.

I picked up some 3/8"/10mm steel to see what the rage was. I was wondering if the smoother steel ball might make for a smoother pouch release vs clay. I didn't notice any! Now that I can shoot decent Im not so worried about a mess as I have a catch box.

I find the smaller ammo much harder to get a good release with but also feel like my pouch is too big for the smaller ammo. On the flip side some of these clay balls are over 13mm and I find I get lots of flyers with the bigger ammo again bad release on my part.

What size ammo do you guys use for target use?

why do you like that size/weight over other options?

Clay , steel, lead, glass?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
who cares what they think? It's your stuff, use it how you want.
Hahahahaha! Exactly what I did! Simpleshot told to go 1-2 sizes under their steel shot ammo for clay and that worked well. Gzk gave me a taper for 10mm steel and I've been using that for 10-13mm clay and it works just fine. U hit your bands with any ammo it won't hold up!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I use 3/8 and 5/16 steel for target shooting. I prefer 5/16 because I can use light bands and can get a better pouch release. Make sure your bands don't over power the ammo. Make sure you have a proper sized pouch for the ammo. If you ever want to compete in a tournament you need to practice with steel ammo.