Slingshots Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to the sport, but have watched many of Joerg's videos on youtube. The videos are very good and I learned a lot by watching them. I had some old copper pipe so I decided to make a slingshot. It's not pretty, but it shoots really well compared to the store bought Barnett I have and it is very accurate. I was amazed at how well the Theraband gold bands work and how accurate it turned out (especially since I'd never made one before). Here are some photos:

http://imgur.com/r4rDO&9Efwwl&zbbRF&Xs21M
http://imgur.com/r4rDO&9Efww&zbbRF&Xs21Ml

I just wanted to share the photos and thank Joerg for the great videos. If I can build one, then anyone can.

Brad

·
"Southern Flip Style"
2,647 Posts
Cool!!!! Now that gives new meaning to the phrase "The Plumbers Friend"!!!!
Great job!!! Welcome to the forum. Let's see some pics of it banded up and shooting.

·
"Southern Flip Style"
2,647 Posts
I forgot how many plumbers we had here!
Great job everyone! It was nice to see them again!

·
Member, Brotherhood of Slingshot Nutz
11,245 Posts
Dude... why in Thor's name would you want to make it STRONGER??? What is the size of your arms?

·
Registered
56 Posts
I have worked with copper pipe for water supply and it is easy to crush it. I was aking a question to determine if it was thick pipe or thin pipe. I thought I would make myself one and wanted to know what he did to make his, That is all.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Well, I made one today. I couldn't find my tubing cutter so I ended up using a hacksaw. I made the forks too tall. Once I find my tubing cutter I will make another. It is a fun and easy project.

·
Registered
56 Posts
I used 1/2 inch pipe because that is what I had on hand. I ended up with three slingshots made out of 1/2 inch copper pipe. I thing 3/4 inch would be a better size, maybe 1 inch in daimeter. Any comments would be appreciated.

·