Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi group,

I'm new to this, but I wanted to build some slingshots with my scout den. These are 3rd graders/8 year olds. I've downloaded templates, but I was hoping you guys could just put me out of my misery and tell me exactly which template I need to build.

Please tell me: template, rubber band, pouch, and ammo I should be ordering for this build.

Thanks,

Kris

·
Missing Barns and Telling Yarns
985 Posts
HI Foxten! I'm new to the forum, but I've tried my luck making a few frames with 3/4" plywood and a jigsaw. I found the Chalice frame to be easy to cut, and pretty good looking as well. I'll leave it to the more experienced members to fill you in on bands and pouches. Good luck!

·
Premium Member
3,287 Posts
Wow! This is exactly what the sport needs and has happened for a long while... transmitting the knowledge to the next generation.

The chalice is a great choice.
Are you going to banded them up to shoot over the top or through the forks?

SSF experts which do you recommend?

I hope this is so much fun for the den.

Also what material are you using as there may be some safety concerns with board cut frames, particularly the grains alignment.

There are plenty of makers here to help.

PS- by the way I just recieved and sewed on a slingshot merit badge style patch. You can see it on my profile pic on my hat. The boys will lobe those.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I was planning on doing it out of 3/4" ply as it's something I have scraps of around. Chalice looks good. I think probably shoot through the fork. Can somebody tell me which website will be one stop shopping for what we need?

·
Ray Rowden
2,641 Posts
Welcome to the forum, @foxten!

I'm inclined to agree with @Ghost as to starting with natural forks. But I'm willing to defer to your judgement on that. LOL! It's your call!