Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'm planning on making my first frame with a G10/FR4 core, topped with lamination of G10/C-Tek/carbon fiber/micarta. I will be making a modified Axiom Champ OTT and probably keep the frame flat and simple (exclude ergonomic details such as palms swell), considering I'm completely new to making frames.

I've been researching on gluing, cutting, filing, and polishing these materials and I have a few questions in mind

1. As a first timer, am I too aggressive with the materials?
  2. If so, what other material should I start with? I'm lukewarm about woods, always feel like they crack easily.
  3. G10 and FR4 seem extremely tough to handle with basic hand tools, any tips on handling them with hand tools and some power tools?
  4. What is the optimal thickness for G10/FR4 core? The finishing thickness of my frame is 20mm-is a 3mm core good enough?
  5. What type of glue is ideal for laminating G10/FR4 on G10/C-Tek/CF/Micarta?
  6. Is (mosaic) pin necessary for fixing?
  7. Please point me the direction if other people have done similar stuff and written on this subject matter before.

Much appreciated.

Product Rectangle Magenta Pattern Electronic device

C-Tek (Resin with infused aluminum honeycomb)

Attachments

·
Registered
76 Posts