Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
Which is better for fork caps and butt caps...wood glue or two part epoxy?
I've never tried this before...not even sure how to pin them, but have a few ideas on what I would do...
I'm more concerned with the fork tip end caps...for safety reasons obviously..

Anyone have any good links to help a guy out?

Sent from my B3-A40 using Tapatalk

Reactions: Tag

·
Registered
657 Posts
For wood to wood joints I use regular wood glue. For any joints of dissimilar materials epoxy works best. I personally haven't used G-flex but I've heard it's great.

As far as pinning goes, I've always just left the cap oversized until after it is glued on, just in case it doesn't quite line up.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
What MIsling said. Wood glue for wood to wood and epoxy for multi-material.

Epoxy will still work on wood to wood of course but wood glue imo has the advantage of resulting in a less prominent lamination line partly because you would want the surfaces being mated to be well flat. The advantage of epoxy would be to fill any spaces or voids in case of uneven mating surfaces. Some would say that the weakness of wood glue is that it doesn't stand up very well to moisture but that is easily sorted by using Titebond II or III.

Also, I think it is easier to clean up wood glue squeeze out by just picking the beads off once it gets waxy. Epoxy is messier and there is always some residue that needs to be sanded away. Having said that, either would work just fine and it comes down to personal preference of which you would rather use, I think... YMMV.

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
What MIsling said. Wood glue for wood to wood and epoxy for multi-material.