Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
I teach at a school in a remote village. These kids love to hike, fish and hunt! We went to Kachemak Bay State Park and took some data on small game, geology, learned some history of the area. We cannot bring bows or guns on field trips but you know I had to bring the slingshot. It is considered a toy not a weapon so it is perfectly legal.

We hiked at least 8 miles and had a great time. I was able to take one grouse on the trail. The kids were stoked. Questions went from "Will that really kill anything?"To "Holy cow! Can I shoot that thing?!?"

So I spent an hour or so teaching what I know of the basics of shooting a slingshot. I am a beginner at this but most of the kids were able to hit a softball sized stone at ten paces.

Here are some of the many pictures from our day, the ones without kids in them.

At the glacier lake

IGduZTX.jpg

Fall trees on Grewignk River

JMWbmzw.jpg?1

Hero shot at the beach at the head of Saddle Trail

9N1JAmE.jpg

Hero shot at the cave.

b00z8BN.jpg

The only way into the park... Well you can take a plane too. But boats are far cheaper for 20 kiddos.

wbow6Jt.jpg

I hope you enjoy the photos!

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
Wow thats crazy, not allowed guns for a field trip in AK. Is that a school rule? Your braver than me going on a field trip with out at least a shotgun along. Frankly id not wander to far without a gun up there. Im fairly familiar with the country up there. Got a brother that has lived in AK since 1975. He's in admin. for a large missionary organization up there. Ive also spent a lot of time in similar type country on Canadian side of the border as well in the NWT etc. Love it up there. Beautiful country as the pics show.

Good shooting. Man kids learn fast eh. There already shooting good.

·
Registered
817 Posts