Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought some lead moulds a couple of weeks ago and finally got a chance to try making my own shot.

I couldn't find any available for 8mm in the UK so bought some from Romania of all places on eBay

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Round-lead-ammo-mold-8-10-12-mm-ball-pellet-buckshot-slingshot-molds/233536486044?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=533180072483&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

I had tried to buy some a while back but he was having issues with postage to the UK and when he had a window of opportunity I jumped at it. Looks like he's back to having issues with postage again.

I wanted 8mm but ended up paying express delivery so ordered a 10mm mould as well for the same postage. Im glad I did.

I heated some scrap lead with a blow torch (I'm a plumber in the UK so its no problem for me to find scrap)

First attempts were a bit crap, generally miss formed so I tried heating up the mould with the blow torch and got better results.

Finally managed to get some good 10mm balls but still struggling to get good results with the 8mm.

I think I need to try keeping the lead hot on a camping stove or even the kitchen stove while the wife is out and heat the moulds up really hot with the blowtorch before poring the lead.

Just tried shooting it with the same set up I use for 10mm steel.

Had to aim higher as you would expect but sent the ball straight through a bean can full of water at somewhere between 10 and 15m.

The same set up won't reliably put 10mm steel through the can full of water. It usually just dents the other side.

I want to be able to reliably produce 8mm lead as that is my favourite size in steel.

What do you guys do?

Attachments

·
Registered
5,724 Posts