Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,918 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ultraman commissioned a Flippinout masterpiece. He gave me a few design elements that he was fond of, a generalized budget, and my artistic freedom to create. Here is what i came up with for him-

He wanted a slingshot with a full palm swell. He was fond of highly figured woods and darker colors of wood. He sent me several scans of his hand for fitting purposes and off to the shop I went.

I had been saving a special piece of Redwood burl for several years, and this project was to be the home for it. The grain displays a wavy character with intersecting grain patterns. I worked to make sure that the bits of the frame exposed, revealed this figure. The redwood burl sandwiched a Purpleheart core. Purpleheart was chosen for it's mass and strength so as to provide security for the relatively weak Redwood. The accent stripes are maple and Sapele Mahogany, which reveal themselves subtly within the finger grooves on the forks.

Of course, he wanted a full palm swell and nothing speaks class like Macassar Ebony. In order to balance the ebony palm swell, i added Ebony fork tips on angles. I also included a Paduak accent stripe in the fork tip overlays for visual contrast and subtle blingness. The frame was fitted to Ultraman's hand via the scans he sent, sanded to an ultra smooth finish, and heavily sprayed with a two part conversion finish. Once dry, it was wet sanded with 1200 grit, then polished and buffed to bring out all the inherent beauty of the now partnered woods.

It is one of the prettiest slingshots I have ever made and know that it will be going to a collector/shooter who will appreciate all of the details.

Thanks for looking

Nathan