Slingshots Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
I completely agree with Aaron!

ZDP - you are a slingshot-scientist...
I like most of your cattys - and your comments seem to me well considered!

Regards
Torsten

·
Premium Member
3,465 Posts
Thanks for the compliment!

I've started brain-dumping my thoughts about design and engineering of slingshots into the blog. I've little experience and they're just passing thoughts, so they don't really belong in the forum proper.

My main drive for now will be testing bands. I realised there's not much raw data published so I plan to do some more research in spare evenings to build a database of bandsets and elastics showing tables of brand, thickness, undrawn length, width, elongation, force, plus (once I get a chrony) pouch and shot mass and velocity. This can be used to understand the mechanics of the bandsets and build predictive models.

Eventually, I want to be able to enter a person's preferred draw length and acceptable draw force and churn out suggested bandsets and show a table of how the bandset will produce a predicted velocity with a range of shot masses. This can then be entered into roundball.exe and generate velocity, impact kinetic energy and drop for certain key ranges.

The old-school way is to make a set of bands based on experience and then suggest a range of shot weights that would work well with it. That's fine, but people's physiques, shooting styles and requirements differ a lot. If someone asks, "Hey, I'd like to shoot a target the size of a hare with 10 ft.lbs terminal energy at a range of about 20 yards from standing. I like a 3/4 butterfly stance or about 22lbs of draw at 53 inches. What do you recommend?", then it's hard to say, "Oh then you need to get a such-and-such bandset from this-or-that vendor and shoot with an x-sized steel ball." With the right data, it's just a matter of plugging the numbers into a spreadsheet.