Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Hey all!

I'm a 17 year old guy living in the bay area (san jose) CA.
After watching top-shot on sunday, i decided to look into slingshots as a backyard pastime.
I'm something of an amateur marksman. i shoot/have shot (not with any consistency): shotguns, bows, handguns, throwing knives, rifles, pelet rifles, airsoft, and bb guns. I am an instinctive shooter myself, i tend to pick up something and be able to hit a target with relative accuracy, though i'm no pro. My main hobby is Archery, and i've got a nice KAP winstar II. However, the distance to the outdoor range, and times available due to work make archery a weekend only sport.

My only experience with with slingshots was a cheap wrist rocket i had when i was quite young, and i was never particularly good with it (i was 8 i think).
In any case, i'm looking to get into it, and get accurate. But i can't decide which slingshot to buy. I was looking at the Chief AJ quickpoint (red bands), mainly because that's what i saw on Top-shot. After watching his videos, it seems like a good slingshot. I was also looking at dankung models, but frankly, have no clue which to choose.

As for ammo, i'm not entirely sure what to use. i'm going to be shooting in the back yard, mostly. I don't have all that large a back yard, so i'll probably set up a backstop. I want to avoid damage caused by ricochets (windows and plant pots surrounding my yard). I'd also prefer something reusable... do glass marbles shatter upon impact? i can't say i've ever tried.

I'd like to keep it cheap, to start.

I would greatly appreciate any advice on which slingshot and backyard ammo i should use.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,233 Posts