Slingshots Forum banner
  • Enter Our Dog Days of Summer BBQ Giveaway Now!  ENDING SOON

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I am a total newbie that has always shot a marksman (wrist brace) slingshot. I think I have looked at every vendor and post on here! LOL.

I made a few the other night... VERY VERY fun. They shoot great. Maybe I will try to get some pics.

This weekend, Ill probably try my own "design". And maybe I will snap a few pics.

But here is my "problem". I would like to buy a nice sling shot but Im so new I dont know what Im looking for. LOL. Is there a thread or a post or something that kind of describes "styles" and shapes?

For example, I see the old traditional "hammer style" grip with the shapes like the bunny busters. What I would call "traditional styles". I think what I like more is the smaller more compact sling shots where the shooter puts their fingers up on the forks. (not sure what that style is called).

And then there are the "modern" metal frames. Very sexy and sleek indeed! I may need one of those as well.

So, help a newbie out?

All I know is that there is somethign innate about a more "traditional" style slngshot like I made the other night. I used the "tex" style but held it with my fingers on the forks and the accuracy was WAY better than my old marksman slingshot. Almost a natural shooting style if that makes sense.

I know I know... I collect watches and knives so I know the "newbie" questions are a pain... Sorry.

·
Premium Member
3,427 Posts
Generally, the grips are:

• Hammer grip
  • High finger grip
  • Wrist braced grip
  • Others
Manufacturing styles tend to be:

• Natural forks
  • Traditional board cut
  • Ergonomic board cut
  • Bent rod
  • Cast
  • Others
Materials may include:

• Wood
  • Plastic
  • Composite plastics
  • Steel
  • Others
  • Laminated combinations of the above