Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
I have recently experienced pain in my right arm and right wrist after several days of regular slingshot use. The technique is to hold the device in my left hand and draw with the right . Bands are two layers of flat Theraband Gold. The point of maximum pain is midway along the lateral aspect of the forearm and lateral aspect of the elbow. Anchor point is at my right eye. I use through the fork aiming. I assume that is an overuse injury.
I wonder if others have experienced this ? Could it be due to another overuse activity? Background- I am a physician with over 35 years of clinical experience in several specialties. Thank you

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,354 Posts
Unless you are using very thin bands (so that doubling them does not give you too much power), or you do double them intentionally because you are a hunter and need power - otherwise I do not see the reason why you should have double bands - they are most probably overpowered then.

I do not say that your pain comes from this solely but a good part of it might..

cheers,

jazz

·
Registered
1,460 Posts
There're several shooters here that had similar injuries with different degrees of tendonitis. One forumite -Skropi- is well known for his "Skropi finger", a deterioration of the index finger caused by excessive shooting.

Three days ago I experienced something I never thought it could happen: I was trying a different tying method (constrictor knot in band to fork, a really stupid idea) and the band snapped on my face, causing some not severe bleeding. Thanks God i was using safety glasses.

The bleeding stops, but if you develop a tendonitis, that's other price, cause healing can take months, and you certainly must know that. So, take care and by any means, USE SAFETY GLASSES.

·
Premium Member
8,097 Posts
What ammo are you shooting and what cut are your bands?