Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
3,147 Posts
A catapult is a medieval weapon used for bombarding castles and fortifications, but in this context they are different names for the same thing.

Reactions: Henry the Hermit

·
Premium Member
3,465 Posts
Autumn vs fall. Elevator vs lift. Crisps vs Crisps. Same difference.

·
Banned
38 Posts
british people sometimes call slingshots catapults, creating confusion between the siege weapon and the slingshot (no offence to english people since i am british too ;P). Brits sometimes also call slingshots a katty or a flingy! hope this helps,
sohy

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks, that is what I thought but I am a newbie and did not want to be missing something. many more questions to come!

·
Resigned
5,563 Posts
Catipulting is a misnomer that was adopted by those who like to call a boot a trunk. Dont we know that a boot is what you put on your foot and not the ass end of a vehicle.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Catipulting is a misnomer that was adopted by those who like to call a boot a trunk. Dont we know that a boot is what you put on your foot and not the ass end of a vehicle.
I suppose inventing the language gives the British the right to call things and spell things how they like. Trunk is an old English term for the trunks that were carried on the backs of carriages. American is a collection of misnomers adopted by those who like to call an arse an ass. Don't we know that an ass is what you put a saddle on and not the arse end of a person! LOL!! (I'm only "joshing"!!!! I'm Irish anyway!)

·
Resigned
5,563 Posts
Its all about the green man the green. I have seen video of the British pounding the Irish without mercy. Very sad.

·
Registered
2 Posts