Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I started shooting slingshots about 15 months ago. I have only shot TTF until recently. I just decided a couple of weeks ago to try OTT. To my surprise, my accuracy improved noticiably. It may be some kind of honeymoon period, but I think it has to do with a simpler visual image. Sighting down the thin edge of the band seems to allow me to be more accurate left to right.

Anyone notice anything similar?

·
Registered
566 Posts
I'm the opposite, started OTT, tried TTF, promptly back to OTT. I've got a theory that is not my own, but one I've been banging on about of late. It is as you say - all to do with a clearer visual image of the target.

I shoot small, narrow, pegheaded style frames precisely because they give a clearer target picture. No reliance on aiming devices, either added on doo hickeys or the edge of the fork, but your own instinctual reaction as to where to place the shot. My skinny forks are well below the target picture, but the compensation I make to nail the target is gauged by what worked or didn't work before. Still sighting along the bands and keeping a consistent anchor, which varies according to what style of band set I'm using, but having a "clear uninterrupted sight picture of the target" is paramount. Big thanks to a member here - Urbanshooter- that first coined that phrase and helped crystallise my approach to shooting.

Intent counts for a bit too. I love nailing a target and bringing full focus to the shot pays off in spades. Was a crap shooter a year ago. Not now though.

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
Definitely OTT, it's simply easier to be accurate in combination with a steady anchor point (cheekbone area) using shorter adapted bands (in my case, 19 cm total length, 20 mm wide at the forks, 10 mm at the pouch, rubber between 0.6 and 0.8 mm thickness and a small pouch.

This setup is great for ammo between 6 to 8 mm.

·
Registered
928 Posts