Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got it in the mail, 0.7 thickness. Well, I guess it's only gzk which is so light for its thickness. 0.7 precise 3rd generation, cut the same as gzk 0.72, is much much harder to draw, and of course fast as heck.
I will cut it 18/12 next, as 20/15 is too much, and I will try 0.6 thickness next time I get some rubber, which will be long, as I have too much stocked right now.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
I'm new to precise bands. I have gone through 12 bandsets of precise, and I don't know which gen rubber it is.

It seems that it takes about 15-30 shots to break in, then they start to have a pretty consistant stretch, so accuracy is good. The retraction doesn't seem to be as fast as thereaband gold, nor does it seem to last as long (as many shots) as tbg, but this may be due to this batch of precise that I got, idk. I don't max out the stretch because when I do, it seems that the bands rip up right away.

As stated, I'm still new to precise, but have about 48 more bandsets to try out, and also some rolls coming in to try out different tapers, so my opinion of the stuff may change.

The affordable cost of precise rubber is a good selling point, but at this time I prefer theraband gold to precise latex. Is it the general consensus that precise is better, than theraband gold? does it last as long? Is it slower or faster?

Your post came up as I was pondering these questions, thanks

-nicholson

·
Registered
2,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It is cheaper than tbg for sure, but concerning speed and longevity I am not sure, as I haven't used tbg in months.

·
Registered
2,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Is it really cheaper than TBG???? If TBG last longer that might mean that one goes through fewer band sets than with that other stuff. Are we really searching for cheap or quality and performance?