Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is something I really wasn't planning on writing, but the question from @Blue Raja got me thinking...

I was actually implementing quite a lot of the stuff that was in my muscle-memory already. After all, I had trained over 20 yrs in two Dojo's in Finland (and in London, several in Tokyo). And as everyone trained in any budo-discipline knows, the training is more like a lifestyles choice than a hobby or sport. The advice (more like a non-negotiable command) was: You WILL shoot over 100 arrows/day. EVERY DAY!

After the extensive damage to my nervous system, eyes (stereovision, depth-perception gone) and muscles (legs, right hand, severe tremor; my 2yrs old Granddaughter helps me with things requiring fine motor skills:-D). I pretty much figured my shooting days were over.

But I am on disability pension. Nothing but time on my hands (pun intended). So I started training. And lo and behold, after some modifications on my slingshots, and getting up to 300 bb/day, I felt like I was getting somewhere.

So here is my current form. It actually incorporates 7 of 8 critical parts of Heki-ryu Insai Ha -style shooting. Sensei Genshiro Inagaki was my Sempai, also the Emperor's. He has learned the style from his Sensei. And so on, back to 1200 ad.

Anyway, here is the video of my current form.

All thanks to @BlueRaja question "Can't wait to see how you incorporate Kyudo to slingshot."

Thanks man. I mean it.

Lähetetty minun SM-T835 laitteesta Tapatalkilla

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Brother SilentSkySerpent -

Thank you. I am honored for the mention and the thanks.