Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi,
i just saw on balls of steel ammo suppliers that up to 19mm diametter can be bought....
i have zero experience of these larger sizes but immediatly wondder what kind of catapult dimensions one would need to wack this out at a decent enough speed for hunting ?...and what sort of band set up would you need.....jeez...
something you mount on a trailer or what hehe
does anyone here have any experience of these larger ammo,s...
cheers alpmouse

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
You basically need the right amount of rubber draw weight, which will involve several layers of tapered flat bands, depending on the thickness of the rubber concerned. I made a heavy duty slingshot rifle some years ago to test 20 mm steel ball bearings on particle boards: distance shots were not possible for safety reasons, but I would assume that the energy output would be quite substantial at 20-30 yards, based on my tests.

For this purpose, I used non-brand exercise bands with a thickness of 0.3 mm to cut 4 separate sets of flat bands to be superposed, where every set was cut to a length of 32 cm, and tapered from 35 mm to 25 mm. Heavy duty leather was used for the pouch, which was calibrated for the ammo size used.

My video shows what kind of energy output is possible: the setup almost perforated 15 mm particle board at close range, which considering the surface area of 20 mm ammo speaks for itself. 10 mm MDF Board was perforated like Swiss cheese (no pun intended). I mentioned safety issues earlier: you want to be sure to have a solid backstop with such experimental shooting - no joke. :hmm:. I used a heavy bath towel as protection against potential ricochets, as you will see: