Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We all want that one slingshot that makes us the best???? Most of us know what Rufuss Hussy Shot, I would like to know what Blue Skeen and others used to shoot. A friend of mine (MJ) told me of Blue Skeen showing him how He used a slingshot to skip a rock across water????????

·
Premium Member
4,054 Posts
When I started shooting slingshots... less than 10 years ago.... and after Blue's era....

The World Record, which is most soda pop cans shot in a minute from 10 meters, was only 10.

European Championships smallest target was 10cm (a touch less than 4 inches) and the winner would usually hit about 90%.

The Chinese Championships had looped tube shooters almost exclusively, and their smallest target was about the same as the European's.

In America at that time, the targets for the "National Championship" smallest was the center bull on paper which was 2.25 inch in diameter followed by less value rings on the way out from center.... and when the ECST started in 2009, it took a similar skill level to compete in the top tier.

Move forward 10 years and.... Tournaments worldwide are far harder to compete in successfully.

The smallest targets are now 4cm (about 20% of the actual area size of a 10cm target) at most tournaments, and if you can't knock that down every time when it's your turn, then you probably won't be in the top tier (if you leave the 4cm target standing, the it's 10 points out of a possible 30, to large of a deficit to allow).

The most successful Chinese shooters shoot like we do, same hold styles and using the same type of elastics on the same type of slingshots that we originally developed.... The most successful European shooters are also shooting like we do... and accuracy has increased everywhere.

Even the official World Record is now 26 soda cans, with a select few able to hit up to 30 unoffically!