Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some tapered linatex bands that i got from Flatband a few years ago. I pulled them out recently and shot a variety of ammo through them. I just can't figure out why anyone would bother with these bands when latex and theraband are available. Am i missing something here? They seem sluggish at best. They are durable, but that is about all i can find about them that is worthwhile.

Anyone have good experiences or a linatex advocate?

·
Member, Brotherhood of Slingshot Nutz
11,147 Posts
I think there are a couple of reasons. (1) longer lasting, and (2) they can lob heavy ammo at a good speed for blunt trauma kills. Both of which tubes and chains can do, but I think linatex users are probably old timers who broke in on gum rubber which is similar.

Warning: I'm no expert! I think Tex-Shooter will be able to answer this with more authority if he sees this.

·
Tex-shooter
4,461 Posts
The only thing that I have against Linatex is the sorry tolerances. That is why I stopped using it altogether. It was just too much hassle matching band sets. -- Tex-Shooter

·
Registered
847 Posts
Yeah, I think their lifespan is about the only thing going for Linatex bands. I got a set from Baumstamm that he included with a catty I bought from him and they struck me the same way: rather sluggish. Like hiker said, they may do better with heavy ammo, but I've never tried it, so that's theory/speculation on my part.

·
Super Moderator
7,048 Posts