Slingshots Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is kinda crude and I'm capable of better, but here it is.
Sorry for the lack of back-side pix. Maybe later.
This is all of it, there is no "barrel" or "Y", yet.
The back end of this piece of wood has a buttstock shape.
The notch in the wood was a previous attempt at this.
Hope to finish it soon.

This lock plate is mounted on the leftside. It's attached by the four corner spacers with screws that go through the wood. (just a piece of a pallet).
The small loop at the left is for the remote trigger. The sear (on the plate's backside) rotates counter-clockwise from a pivot at the bottom of the plate.
This lock plate is removable and can be attached to other wood or whatever.
This is my first attempt to create any kind of trigger mechanism, fun.

Here is a top view, showing the four corner spacer mounting screws.
Also, the sear return spring.

Here I'm trying to pull the sear forward and take a picture at the same time. Kinda like walking and chewing gum.
Shows the lock open with sear forward.

Paul in Oregon
Hope this is in the correct forum area, sorry if it isn't.

·
Premium Member
3,465 Posts
That's splendid. Yours is the first mechanism that I've seen that has a return mechanism. The others mostly rely on multi-step hand setting.

I'm not 100% sure I understand the mechanism, but I think the pouch grip pins are held closed by the shear bolt on a shear plate and the shear plate is held in the closed position by the return spring, but there is a lever directly connected to the shear plate that can be pulled by a trigger (not shown) . When the lever is moved, it opens the shear gate releasing the grip pins, one of which then moves out of the way releasing the pouch.

I look forward to seeing it in action, but for now I have three comments: