Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,097 Posts
I've been shooting slingshot for about eight years. For seven of those years my go-to setup has been looped Chinese tubes. For most of that time I've shot 2040s, but also 1842 and 1632.
I've also shot pretty much everything else. Flat bands in thick, thin, long, short, fat, skinny, and every other configuration. Chained rubber bands. Along with traditional big tubes. About the only thing I haven't shot is English square rubber.
I keep coming back to loops because they fit right in the sweet spot of a venn diagram that includes speed, draw weight, and longevity. Also, I shoot well with them because I've practiced a lot. If people tell you that looped tubes aren't accurate, know that the problem is them, not the setup.
I've been living in a place all summer where I don't have easy access to materials and I couldn't bring very much with me. After being in this situation, it seems ridiculous to need a roller cutter and a mat and a special ruler to cut a set of flats that will last 200 shots. I can make a set of loops with only a pair of scissors and I can do it basically anywhere. I tie mine with string but if I didn't have string I could cut a little cuff of tube and use that as a tie. And they'll last 2000 shots or more.
Are they heavier and slower than optimized tapered flats? Yep. Don't care. For what I want to do I only need a reliable trajectory out to about 25 yards, which is no problem.
I'm going back to the States soon and will be focusing on hunting. 2040 and 3/8" steel for doves and pigeons, 1842 and 1/2" for rabbits and squirrels. If I had to only have one setup it would be 2040s and 7/16" steel, which would take feathers and fur with good shot placement.
Did I mention that they're all but silent when you shoot? I can shoot down by the river at my local urban park without raising eyebrows, as long as I'm otherwise stealthy.