Slingshots Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Resident Nutcase
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started out over ten or twelve years ago with an old Trumark wrist rocket someone gave me. While layed off for the winter I decided to get some new bands and shoot it in the apartment I lived in. Small, compact, and pretty quick, I found out when shooting cardboard box targets I got bored with it pretty quick. After a while it didnt seem much fun even after I got fairly good with it. Just no WOW!!! factor I guess. I couldnt even tell where I had hit half the time. So like everyone else I started experimenting, wanting something more "powerful" - more punch I guess.

One night after watching the news about the ROM collection of crossbows, the curator explained about the effeciencies of the crossbow, and I got to wondering about what she meant about being effecient, and wondered if I could apply those same principals to the slingshot. So I started playing around with the idea, comparing it to my archery experiences. I was only moderately accurate, hated the huge upfront expense, and the fact if you bent, damaged, or lost your arrows you had to buy some more $$$$$$. Worst of all all you could go is target shoot or hunt - no off-hand plinking. It was too much like golf. Aim shoot and go fetch. The bow soon got put in the closet. I also thought it was kinda slow and the range kinda sucked.

So, I decided to see if I could blend the best features what I liked about the bow, and the best features I liked about the slingshot. I've been building them ever since. In evaluating the slingshots use of applied force, it didnt take a rocket scientist to figure out it was transferred to the wrist and thus wasted. So the best way to increase effeciency, was to replace the Y shaped yoke with something that was able to take that wasted energy and transfer it into motion. Namely increasing the amount of applied force or power to the projectile.