Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After seeing JoergS's inspirational "how-to" video on youtube, I decided to take the plunge and make my first boardcut slinshot.
I'm very new to this hobby, and currently own a Trumark wristbraced slingshot as well as a general Dankung slingshot which have both been purchased only this year. This has been a great hobby so far and I have learned, and still am learning, tremendously from the experts in this forum.
Since I'm still a student, I can't really afford power tools. Hence, this boardcut was made entirely from manual tools and only 3 tools to be precise(a coping saw and 2 differently sized files) which were purchased from the local $2 store. Here are some pics of my progress!

Cutting the shape out from the board.

The poorly cut design with many uneven edges.

After being filed down.

Once i get it sanded, i planned to get it stained using coffee since I don't want to have to spend money on commercial wood-dyes. Then I plan to give it several coats of lacquer for some shine and protection.

I would like to thank JoergS for being so generous in sharing his slingshot phoenix design. I would also like to thank Flatband for giving me very sound advice earlier this year when I was contemplating getting my first slingshot. Last but definitely not least, I would like to express my appreciation to the moderators and users of this forum which has been a great source of information for me.

Do keep the comments and criticism coming!!!

·
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
1,426 Posts
Great work for a first build! Was it hard cutting it out with a coping saw?

·
Member, Brotherhood of Slingshot Nutz
11,245 Posts
Nice one. What bands do you plan to use on it? Like to see it banded up and ready to shoot.

. . . BTW, That IS multiplex, right? If not, I wouldn't go any further.

·
Registered
525 Posts
very nice!