Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have had such a great experience with Natural Forks lately, that I had to share the good news. The two forks in the pic are the first natural forks I had ever held or shot. When I started shooting, I found Bill's gallery page and just gazed at his work like a kid drooling over candy they can't have. I thought, if a natural fork really worked, why did he go to all this effort. So, I craved all these fancy layups of mixed media from mastodon teeth, to bamboo. Now that I can shoot and have a nice, modest collection....I turned to a natural that Peetie Wheatstraw sent me. I knew I wanted to shoot it. The forks were smaller than my 20/15mm bands. I had never attached bands without grooves or used wider bands than the forks. It didn't shoot straight so I tuned up the fork tips, sanded her down to 1000 grit, beeswaxed it with heat, then I gave it 30 coats of paste wax.....well, my goodness...what a change. It shoots with any fork I own. I would not take $300.00 for it today. Thanks Peetie.

Next, Darrell sent me a beautiful oriental elm fork. I told myself it was too nice to 'tune-up'....so I put two coats of blue tape over the butt, tuned it up, sanded it to 1000 grit, beeswaxed it with heat, and gave it 10 coats of paste wax(20 to go). I shot it 10 times this morning and was absolutely blown away by it's performance. I would not take $300.00 for this fork today. Thanks, Darrell.

Now, before anyone gets bent out of shape or thinks that I have undermined the maker...I sent my new, S&W back for a trigger job, I sent my new, 870 to Wilson, I sent my new, Colt back to be dehorned and tuned up, I put Borla exhaust on my new, Cooper S. If I see potential, I am compelled to expand upon it.

I now have two naturals that perform as I need them to do and will get used as opposed to just getting looked at. And most of all I get to enjoy the Kindness that came along with them.