Slingshots Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys this is my first post and sayin hay. Im new to serious slingshooting, what are your guys favorite ammo for target practice and hunting. Also do you guys no much about making your own lead balls. Would buying larger buckshot bbs work aswell. thanks jesse

·
Premium Member
3,465 Posts
For power and fun, No.7 oval lead sinkers. They weigh about 150 grains. That's about the same as a .40m to .45cal round ball.

For accuracy, a round lead ball of about 100 grains and a lighter bandset to match.

Ought to 0000 should cover it, but proportionally smaller gage if tungsten. If you do get tungsten spheres (shot not bearing) cheaply, I'd love to buy some.

·
Registered
1,964 Posts
hey guys this is my first post and sayin hay. Im new to serious slingshooting, what are your guys favorite ammo for target practice and hunting. Also do you guys no much about making your own lead balls. Would buying larger buckshot bbs work aswell. thanks jesse
Marbles mate!
And have a look at BellsofHythe, they have a lead mould for just such an occasion.

·
Premium Member
71 Posts
I purchased a 0000 lead shot mould on ebay, and went to my local scrap yard and bought about 20lbs of lead. It cost around 75 cents a pound for the lead. 1 pound of lead yields about 30-40 balls. I use an old 2 quart pot and my BBQ grill to melt the lead. Put on heavy leather gloves and I use an old stainless steel serving spoon to pour the hot lead into the mould. With a little patients and practice I can make about 200 balls an hour. Yes it is easier just to buy them, but me and my 15yr son enjoy it and get to spend some good time together. Hope this helps

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·