Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4,105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So before anyone asks why I didn't post this in 'The Art of Shooting', it's primarily because this could get a little off topic and I'm totally fine with that. What we aim to discuss today are not just different ways of shooting, but combining your carry method with your shooting method etc. for your preferred setup. Do you just throw the frame and some steel in your glovebox? Do you carry a pocket shooter with a magnet for your ammo? Do you wear your frameless rig as a bracelet or necklace?

Also, when it comes time to shoot - do you shoot short draw, long, 3/4? Instinctive, aimed, flip, no-flip - & why?

Personally I'm either shooting short draw, aimed. 3/4 draw, instinctive. Or full butterfly, aimed. I started out long draw instinctive as a kid, eventually I wanted to be able to aim so I started practicing that in my late teens. I shot aimed only for about a year and a bit between 19-21, but as of late (27) I've been shooting almost exclusively instinctive. The reason being I'm getting to the point where aimed shooting no longer provides the same thrill it once did, unless I'm hunting or REALLY challenging myself target shooting. When I just want to go out and have fun, I go to the playground near my house with a couple pop cans, toss them about and shoot instinct only for a few hours. It becomes absolutely Zen after a while lol.

Anyhow, share your thoughts, ideas & pictures of your setups. Take care guys & get out and shoot something!

·
Registered
477 Posts
I have a 30in draw, hold at a 90°, and aim. I have only been shooting for about a year I tried other setups butterfly I feel like I'm going to hit my head and if I dont aim who knows where it will go. Heck I still sometimes lose it.

·
Premium Member
1,750 Posts
Cracking topic and looking forward to all the options.