Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been shooting slingshots for about 2 months now. I'm shooting TTF with a mini Taurus. I shoot mainly with the .7 mm 'chinese' bandsets that Pocket Predator sells and switch back and forth between 5/16 and 3/8 ammo. I'm still learning, so I figure I should try a few different combos. The first thing I learned is how overpowered bands relative to ammo weight can mess with your aim. I have also started to do an extended draw on longer slack length so I've been messing around with lighter bands as well
Despite some early success, progress has been frustratingly slow. On good days I hit a 2 inch target 2 of 5 times from 30 ft. On bad days you can't tell I'm aiming at any particular spot lol.
Anyhow, I had a simple shot youtube playlist going in the background while I was working the other day and I heard someone say "aim with your dominant eye".
"Hmm" I thought, "I wonder which is my dominant eye?" and promptly forgot about it.
I just remembered to check and according to two different methods, I am apparently left eye dominant.
"Hmm" I thought, " I wonder if I should switch to right hand hold so that my dominant eye is more in line with the top band?".
Well I tried a test pull and noticed that the band seemed to be MUCH more in line with my vision.
"WTF?", I thought and promptly did the same test with left hand hold....

That's when it hit me that I have been aiming with my left eye with a left hand hold. 🤦‍♂️ This is situating my dominant eye 1.5 inches further above the band than it would be if I was shooting right hand hold, increasing the angle between my eye and the end of the band and foreshortening the view. This is certainly not ideal!