Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Recently I met a friend from my childhood and I asked him what are you doing now when you are retired and he said he has a weekend house and spends time there: gardening, barbecuing and so on.

Then he asked me what I do and I said that my hobby and my sport are slingshots and he was delighted, and asked: the same ones that we made when we were children?, and I said: no, those were barebacks, and these are "forked" slingshots and I showed him the one I carry with me everywhere. He cried: Oh how I would like to have one - and I said: you will get one, for sure.

And here it is. It is made after I studied some hammer grip designs from the post I made few weeks ago and put couple of the designs together. (I normally do not make hammer grip designs).

As all my latest slingshots, this frame is made from plum tree exclusively with a 2mm aluminum core. I rubbed it with BLO-terpentine-bees wax mixture that I learned here in the forum how to make.

It is banded with 22 to 18 mm wide bands with a pouch to hold marbles.

The color of the lanyard is not the one I wanted but that was the only piece of paracord I had at hand.

I gave it to him yesterday and he was very thankful.

I hope you like it:

Plant Wood Terrestrial plant Grass Road surface

Hand Wood Plant Yellow Finger

Hand Gesture Finger Thumb Plant

cheers,

jazz

Attachments

·
Registered
3,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Thats nice!
Thanks, mattwalt!

Very nice @jazz, and very cool of you to bring your friend into the fold, lol. Pretty soon, he'll prob be making his

own slings, which I for one, would LOVE to see.

The Plum wood looks a lot like Cedar, but I'm sure it is way harder than Cedar.
Thanks, SLING-N-SHOT! I do not know much about cedar, its kinda exotic wood here, but the plum wood is very hard, especially when totaly dry, however, still nicely giving to carving. And the colors are amazing!