Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,854 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't shot OTT as much as TTF and haven't shot OTT for a while. I have also just started playing with butterfly. I recently came across something I may have mis-understood. Or, maybe I've got it right. So I would like to pick the collective brain of this forum.

I hope the pics below show what I am talking about. When I started shooting OTT using short draw I learned that the bands should make a "V", and not and "A", with the "V coming from each band twisting 90 degrees by the time it got to the pouch. And with the bands twisting like this in opposite directions, the "V" shape that mimics the fork shape forms and hopefully helps guide the ammo through the fork and away from the handle.

When I started trying butterfly I came across info saying OTT is more the norm and less likely to have fork hits. I also came across some band mounting methods where the bands are twisted 180 degrees from each other with one "facing up" and the other "facing down". When mounted like this the pouch folds over on itself and sits flat rather than making a "V". If I understand correclty, this pouch orientation would seem to push the ammo straight through the fork instead of nudging it up away from the fork like the "V" shaped mounting would do.

So my questions- do I have these right, and if so, are there any pro's or con's to OTT mounting for a "V" vs a flat? Is there any reason to not use the "flat pouch" mount for short draw OTT, or, any reason why a "V" mount would be preferable?

Thanks in advance- I am looking forward to learning from the answers here.

·
Registered
2,413 Posts
Arturo calls the top one "pre-turned" or "pre-twisted" all my PFS and gapper butterfly setups are this way. Some of my short draw are setup pre-twisted and V. I definitely prefer pre-twisted for my style of shooting.