Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this question would be better asked in shooting tips, mods please move if so.

I have a fused left wrist and some hand damage. I can't really hold a slingshot very well in my left
because of this so I must hold with my right hand. No problem there then but I also have limited supination on left forearm
and can't turn the pouch to be parallel with the forks if I hold the cat horizontal ie bands one above the other in chinese style.
I can get to 40-45deg.

My question is, does this matter? ....... I could of course shoot vertical or at 45deg but I do like the idea of shooting chinese style
with the anchor at the corner of my mouth under my left eye, as Smitty shoots, it makes sense to me.

Your advise would be appreciated, I want to start off right.

·
Registered
685 Posts
When I started shooting "gangsta" style I didn't notice that aLot of times I did not hold the pouch the right way . No accidents happened to me . I can't tell you if there is any different in shooting accuracy as back then could not hit anything anyway 45 deg is ok I say but nothing more .I will try it maybe tomorrow and tell you what I experianced in accuracy .Also I suggest to use wide forks 4.5 cm min.
Just stay tuned if you are not sure dont shoot it.

Other thing you can hold the catapult in around 30 deg then the catapult and the pouch line up almost

·
Registered
88 Posts
Ok that's encouraging both, I'll await your tests also Brooklyn 00003.
I'm not worried about anything safety wise, my concern was accuracy.
I've been shooting "gangsta style" , thanks did not know what to call it, and not had any fork strikes or major
wayward shots. I'm just not accurate enough to know if holding gangsta 90 deg from horizontal and the pouch around 45deg
will detract from potential accuracy.
I'm going to be using flat bands mainly, I think.