Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
632 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

First questions but I am sure of many more as can`t get enough of progressing in this hobby.

I did forum search but maybe missed key words?

Anyway,

As total newb am following band cutting rule of thumb of twice ammo diameter at wide frame end and

1 1/2 at pouch, feels good enough for me at this point.

I then tie using from 4-5 times active to anchor ratio and adjust to comfort, learning quick.

I ordered RAYS SUPER SURE pouches am excited to test but as avid DIY kinda guy would like to try my hand at making

pouches.

So questions?

Is there a rule of thumb starting ratio for ammo dia size to pouch length AND width?

As well, centering and side hole dia size for ammo please?

Hole size for band width as well?

What I am finding and really enjoying shooting sling shots is the set up phase then testing, so fun!

Any and all input will be absorbed and implemented.

I am on a strict budget at this time thanks to covid killing my 2020 event year and as is cold here now other outdoor

activities are put on hold.

The quality of my life is much improved setting up a frame, then going just out my front door to target test until my hands and mostly fingers are to cold

to shoot ok.

I have 6 very cheap china frames with ott and ttf for 8,10 and 12 mm ammo.

Found some leather scraps and am searching ebay for cheap hole punches to make pouches.

So far my biggest ah ha moment is feeling the flesh of my fore finger and thumb just contact behind ammo and pouch prior to release.

This seems to allow better, cleaner release getting to the point where have no fly aways.

Happy New Year to all from EU and stay covid free!

ukj

·
Registered
4,662 Posts
There are so many variables to dogmatically say something should be done a particular way. There are material variables, preference variables, temperature variables, personal physical variables etc, etc.