Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am basically a complete beginner to slingshots (apart from purchasing a Black Widow years ago and not being able to hit a barn door at 5 yards away!). My idea is to purchase one of the cheap Chinese slingshots from a site such as Aliexpress to practice with (the one which have sights and the end of the bands are clamped in). I believe these would be considered OTT slingshots?

I will be practicing on targets to begin with, but as soon as I become proficient I plan on using it for hunting small game such as Squirrels, Pigeons, Rabbits, Pheasant etc.

I have been doing a lot of research regarding Ammo Size, Band Thickness and Tapers suitable for a hunting set-up, but any information I find is conflicting with people having vastly differing opinions.

What type of Ammo, Band Thickness and Tapers should I consider using for hunting small game?

I already know my draw length and active band length and I plan on making my own band sets from Precise and GZK latex I will purchase from the internet.

Thanks in advance, any help is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
2,997 Posts
Lots of variables that you are trying to piece together. I suggest contacting Simple Shot. They have a chat feature and if you don't connect due to time difference they will get back to you via email. Quickly! Tell them what you are looking to do and they will set you up with something inexpensive that will work while you are learning and also when you have enough experience to go afield. Don't go the ultra cheap route when learning! You will get frustrated with poor quality and eventually move to something better. Don't waste the time or money. Get started with something decent so you can take equipment out of the equation and work on your abilities. Just my opinion. Good luck and welcome!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Hello WizzyH,