Slingshots Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been lurking around this site and asking a few question and have recieved great responses. Thank you. I am going to ramble a bit here about my thoughts. I do not know enough at this point to get them organized. My ultimate goal is to hunt hogs. I have extensive trad archery experience. I have been following threads on tubes and flat bands and this has raised some more questions. I want a setup that will shoot an arrow wt of 500 gr. This is significantly hearier that typical SS ammo. I feel that I need to be shooting that arrow somewhere faster than 150fps. I intend to use a draw lenght of about 30 in. What factors influence the power in a SS? how do shorter bands change things? I assume longer bands can have more power but only if you draw them farther. I assume that as soon as a band reaches its resting length it is done working. I also assume there if a draw length of demonished returns or failure for a band. It seems logical to me that the longer the bands are appling force to the ammo the more force will be transfered to the ammo. I have no idea what a heavy SS draws but I draw 65#@28" on my longbow comfortably. I assume SS draw is limited by pinch strength more than draw strength. How would ya'll the experts set up a rig to do what I want? Please feel free to answer anyor all my questions and correct me where I might be thinking astray.

·
Registered
782 Posts
Check out Chief AJ's posts, and his website, he's familiar with what you know, got some videos of it happening and all, might enlighten you some

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have worn out Chiefs site. That is wear I got the bug to do this. THe penetration worries me some so I am looking for a heavier set up. His set up uses black tubes. Are they the heaviest? What about double bands?

·
Registered
70 Posts