Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Good evening everyone. I am a prospective writer, this is my first post and its a weird one.

I am writing a space opera in which the Protagonist is at times not able to use "Conventional deterrents" for a variety of plot related reasons. I wish to have him to use a slingshot in lieu of other projectile throwers (crossbow, bow, blowgun, etc.). I've read that Slingshots are often chosen by "Preppers" and "Guerrillas" for a variety of reasons.

For the sake of keeping things realistic, I wanted to consult the knowledgeable slingshot users on this forum for some ideas about how my character may employ one in creative ways that are still at least plausible.

One of my action scenes is a duel between my non-powered "rogue-like" protagonist and a Wizard, with my protagonist using Obsidian/Vulcanic Glass Marbles, Pepper Balls (irritants encased in sintered Obsidian), and lead slugs jacketed with "magic-resistant substances". In otherwords: Marbles, Pepperballs/Paintballs, and Lead. (Note: This is a non - lethal duel, where each combatant is trying to disable their opponent.) The scene is meant to be crazy awesome, not just crazy...

Please note that I am not trying to ask how to commit acts of violence with a slingshot, I am merely trying to make a novel I am working on more interesting.

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Greetings fellow writer and welcome to the forum. This is not a weird post. To the contrary, it is a topic that I have considered in one of my creative writing projects.

just sent you a PM and hope that we can chat.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

·
Premium Member
3,289 Posts
I gotcha. I strongly suggest you look up pfsshooter(Darrell Guillory) on youtube.

Also on Facebook look up some videos by Leo Cerna.

Spped shooting and fast draw with slingshots. I will dig up some links later.

Also when searching theninterweba use search words like this