Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Konrad
416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had bought some 1.8mm faux suede and was disapponted with the strength. I over came that by laminating it. They are strong but heavy 1.1 grams vs 0.7 grams (Stock microfibre pouch)

I had watched a video by Dankung, seeing the pouches being cut by laser and I studied my pouches from various sources e.g sniperling. I though about what makes the faux suede different from the micro fibre. I read about avoiding ironing Faux suede as you will change the nap. Nap (not sleeping) surface texture. Well I am not interested in nap. The smoother the better. So I tried putting some of my faux suede under a iron at max heat with baking paper (wax paper).

Well the results were very nice. It compressed the faux suede and made it as smooth a leather.
I recorded some empirical data. I placed some pouches on my archery draw board and took them to breaking strain with the boat winch.

1. 1.8mm faux suede 11 kg (24.25lbs)
  2. 1.8mm faux suede (Ironed) 19.5kg (42.99lbs)
  3. GZK 1.8mm Microfibre 21kg (46.29lbs)
  4. Snipersling 1.8mm Microfibre pouch 21kg (46.29lbs)
  5. GZK 1.8mm Microfibre Laminated 31kg (68.34lbs)
In the picture below

D is the 1.8mm faux suede
C is the GZK 1.8mm Microfibre Laminated
B is a example of the common micro fibre pouches (the material)

Rectangle Wood Composite material Metal Pattern

GZK micro fibre (Left) and 1.8mm faux suede (Right)
Textile Insect Finger Font Wood

I wanted to put the information out there. I migh not have to laminate my pouches and it will give me a good boost in speed. About 5m/s 16fps.

If it doesnt work out at least the data is posted.

I willl post a picture of the Ironed Faux Suede later.

Salutations.

·
Konrad
416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Sorry everybody my testing methodology was flawed. I punch a hole 3mm from the side of a piece of faux suede. I did some proper testing today and the results are: