Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
I've recently gotten back into shooting slingshots again and have followed with interest the discussion on Chinese tubes. As a retired physicist, I have time to try to make sense of the unexpected result that tapered bands (e.g., 4 strand mixed with 2 strand on each side) can outperform single bands (e.g. 2 strands per side). One can algebraically model a slingshot in which each side is composed of 2 strands in series, with each strand having different stiffness, mass, length, etc.. In the simplified case where the draw force is proportional to the amount of draw beyond the unpulled length (="draw length"), I did not find any advantage to pseudo tapered bands over untapered at CONSTANT draw length AND pull force; (by untapered, I mean constant band configuration all the way between pouch and slingshot "Y") . This calculation includes the mass of the rubber bands, the variation in velocity along the bands, and the mass of the pouch and projectile.

To get constant draw length and pull force for different types of bands, one needs to change the unstretched length of band(s). It seems that many on this forum are not aware of some general rules that can help understand observations. In particular, the pull force at a given draw can be doubled by doubling the number of identical strands side-by-side (i.e., in parallel) or by HALVING the UNstretched length of all bands. Alternatively, the pull force at a given draw length can be halved by halving the number of bands in parallel or by doubling the UNstretched length of all bands. This means that it is very important to carefully monitor the UNstretched length of bands as this can make more difference in stiffness than the band type (e.g., 2040, 1745, etc.).