Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Tex-shooter
4,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In 2005 Nell and I started shooting exhibitions. I we let the public get involved and soon found found out you don't let them shoot your prized wood slingshots! So I made up 7 of these for the public to shoot at our exhibitions. This is the only one that I have left and I keep it for my collection to bring back found memories of these events.

Wood Bicycle handlebar Gun barrel Air gun Trigger
Composite material Gas Tool Metal Nickel

Attachments

·
Tex-shooter
4,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
A buddy of mine welded them with a MIG!

·
Tex-shooter
4,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

·
Tex-shooter
4,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
If the forks were at a steeper angle, it would have the same profile as a Saunders Wrist Rocket Pro.

Great mod!
You could not bend these old ones they were not only hardened, but also chrome plated, which made then pretty brittle, but strong. I don't know about the new P51's, but they are not chrome plated so they may not be as hard either! I never worried about welds that the man that welded mine did. One of my friends also had a plasma welder.

Reactions: Tag and Blue Raja

·
Registered
28 Posts
Tex, thanks for sharing. I'm 76 and a welder. I tig weld and I'd stack my life on my welds. No way are they gonna let go. I make some rockets similar to yours and the ant. Great stuff . Are you old enough to remember shooting red car inner tubes. At that time use kids would give almost anything for a red rubber car inner tube.. Way better than the black ones.

·
Tex-shooter
4,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·