Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting slingshots for several years now. Full confession, I shoot fairly regularly for about 3 months then things happen and I may not shoot again for 6 months, then back to shooting for 3 months or so then...... You get it. I've never done any hunting of any kind. I would eventually like to hunt but I know that I am not accurate enough. When I practice I try to keep what I call a hunters mentality. Aim small miss small, one shot one kill, etc. For me the first shot is the most important shot. After all if I am in the field and I have a game in sight, if I miss I might not get another chance. There is where my shortcoming is. You see the first dozen or so shots always seem to be way off. I usually start off with cans and at 10 meters I completely miss the can. After the first dozen its like I almost can't miss the can. I am guessing whats happening is the bands are warmed up and have stretched to what I am accustomed being my natural aiming points. It gets to the point that I almost don't even need to aim. Just raise the slingshot, point it at the can and BANG, music to my ears. I guess my question is since the first shot is the most important shot, and I don't get another first shot in any one training session, what is the recommended method for making the first shot a hit? And is there anything I can do about the dirty dozen?

·
Registered
77 Posts
Share your aiming method perhaps. My initial guess is your technique is a tad muscle memory and a bit technical. I think your first shots are closer to technical and you are correcting for technical imperfections during the following shots until you get to a point where you feel accuracy is adequate. If possible you want to figure out what you are changing during those first shots each session.