Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Premium Member
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I spend about 20 to 30 minutes per day shooting at a target in my catch box. I've been shooting from 20 feet at a soda can suspended from a hook. I had been getting two hits in a row, then missing one or two and so on. Today, my can broke and I couldn't hang it up. I then wadded up a piece of printer paper and taped it into a ball and hung it up instead. It's about a fourth the size of the soda can. I started shooting and was getting 3 and 4 hits in a row. So I have no idea why I am hitting a smaller target more consistently. I doubt that I made a huge leap in my shooting overnight (unless I did). Does that happen? Anyway, I'm not complaining. Lol. Just wondering.

· Registered
513 Posts
You will have improved overnight a little - I have found that over the years, the best way to learn is to do a bit of practice, sleep and do some more the day after (works for all aspects of life).
As for the target size, the small target gives you a smaller point to focus on - try the soda can with a small target sticker on it. That will give you the same effect.

· Mojave Mo
5,582 Posts
You are experiencing the 'Jedi Mind Vortex' or JMV for short. The Latin translation is something like, "Don't think, shoot". My favorite target is a 1.5" plastic practice golf ball. I set them up in the woods at random distances and pretend it is a White Headed Rabid Squirrel. If I move up to the 3" whiffle ball then my brain tells me I can hit it all day long because I know how to hit the 1" ball. Somehow my brain gets lazy. It takes me a few minutes to stop missing the 3" ball. I believe this is where the 'Aim small, Miss small' mantra should come into play. Imagine that between 3ft and 30ft you can knock the wings off of a fly. If I can make that happen then my entire world is filled with 'impossible' targets. Summary: keep shooting. 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯 🎯

· Premium Member
56 Posts