Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
So Many Marbles ------------- So Little Time ;-)
4,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For a long, long time my practice ammo of choice was 5/8" marbles. I could get them very cheap and I could see them fly, which I loved.. time has come and gone a bit and it seems the marble prices have climbed where I don't want to shoot 100 of them in a day, I'd rather save them for hunting. The 3/8" steel I now get is 1/2 the price of a discount marble.

A few months or so ago I started shooting 2040 single tubes and .177 cal BB's and in reality I have not looked back. I can carry 200 or so BB's in my vest pocket, they take up very little room and are very light. Shooting single 2040 tubes like I do or what ever you may like, the BB's come out like missiles and fly very, very flat. You are not going to use these for hunting (maybe HOSPS at close range), but for target shooting and working on form and keeping your muscle memory they work great. Another plus is because you are using light pull elastic, you must pay a lot of attention to your form to keep it smooth.

The cost advantage is also a big thing, as 6000ea Daisy BB's cost me about $7.58 (includes tax). So 100 shots a day cost me a little more than 12.6 cents, a full heavy day of shooting 150 shots cost me less than 19 cents !! You can't beat that with a stick. To put it more graphically for every marble I shoot, I get over 15 shots using BB's :- ) Now if you are using marbles for practice and may be on the mooch at the same time, well that is a different story !

Again, just because they are .177 cal BB's doesn't mean these little guys are wimps. Like I said, the BB's I shoot using single 2040 tubes are extremely fast and very, very flat shooting ... 6.5ish active and a 32+ draw, small BB pouch !!!