Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Hi Folks

What size BB's should i start with - complete novice.

From the air rifle shooting i do, i choose a small .177 cal pellet to get max pellet speed and flatter trajectory - is the same theory good for slingshots?

I'm in the UK and would probably buy from here https://ballsofsteelsussex.com/shop/ so i have lot's of options of size from 6mm updwards.

Frame is a Wasp Uniphoxx

Next thread wil be suitable band size.... to propel the recommended steel ball

Cheers

·
Super Moderator
6,185 Posts
These are the 3 - I shoot as 'standard'

I use .177 BB's and also heavyweight airsoft 6mm (shoot about the same - though indoors etc. the plastic ones tend to be a little safer) - .177 shoot super fast with the right setup but can easily be overpowered which affects accuracy. Its an awesome travel setup as can easily be slipped in about anywhere with a large amount of ammo.

6mm - shoots awful fast - and is accurate. Really fun when you want something light but still authoritative (also its way cheaper than 3/8 for me)

9.5mm (3/8") - because its the 'standard' competition/hunting size in the UK

Also worth checking is cost (esp. on eBay) - I found in the UK 3/8 could be the cheapest ammo to get for catty's.

Guys also regularly use 8mm / 10mm

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Matt

I will get some 6mm as a lightweight BB and some 9.5mm as a standard.

I will look out for some .177 BB's - probably from an airsoft or gun dealer.

·
Super Moderator
6,185 Posts
I got my BB's usually off eBay.co.uk

Though have bought from gun shops and online shooting sports stores as well.

If you're feeling wealthy - Gamo does round lead pellets in .177