Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Missing Barns and Telling Yarns
985 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As an admitted slingshot novice, I try to abide by a few basic tenets of the sport. Have a consistent ammo release. Match your ammo to your bands. Don't shoot in the house (while your wife is home). That's about all I've learned so far, but man have I memorized them!

So it leaves me quite confused anytime I get band-sets from China. Every single set I've received (dozens at this point), seems to come equipped with powerful bands that would be ideal for 3/8" steel or something similar. Yet the pouches all seem too small to accommodate anything larger than 1/4" steel. I'm forced to choose between either overpowering my ammo, or trying to fit a marble in a pouch that barely wraps around it's circumference.

Is this just me, or has anyone else noticed this? The Chinese have amazing slingshot enthusiasts, so I'm assuming there is some sort of explanation to this. Do they just use way more power than I'm comfortable with? Or do they just balance their ammo in tiny pouches? I like a big pouch where I can completely ensconce my ammo. Every time I use a Chinese pouch it feels like I'm fitting a fat man in a hammock. The slightest misstep is going to tip him out. So who knows something and can set me straight?!

Attachments

·
Registered
309 Posts
I don't know anything about anything. But I assumed it was to reduce weight so performance would be better. But I was also wondering if a larger pouch might be better for me. I am still trying to figure all of this out. It's a good thing that learning this stuff is so much fun

·
Registered
50 Posts
I don't know anything about anything. But I assumed it was to reduce weight so performance would be better. But I was also wondering if a larger pouch might be better for me. I am still trying to figure all of this out. It's a good thing that learning this stuff is so much fun