Slingshots Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Hi all,
I have introduced myself in the right place.
Can't resist jumping in and having a go at building a roller type slingshot as I've seen from JoergSprave.
I'm an old engineer but never built anything like this before, let me know if this could work.

I'll explain and try and do a sketch later.

I was thinking of the 'W' design.
Centre handle but either side constructing ladder frames. Two parallel flat bars.
Instead of just one V groove roller on the top, as JoergSprave's H, I was thinking of putting another below within the frame.
If I connect the band behind the frame just below the top roller, then under the bottom roller and through the frame, then up and over the top roller.
So, if you can see it, the band would form a U with the bottom running through the frame, then up the front and over the top with little or no band continuing past.
My concern would be as the band contracts it may be snagged on the frame where it passes through the frame under the bottom roller?

If it could work I would have a long 'draw length' slingshot.

The main reason I've thought of this is because I have no access to welding kit and it would be difficult to keep the rolers in the clear.

I'd be interested in your thoughts. ..... Hope you can see what I'm thinking, as I said I'll try and sketch it out later.

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
One serious problem is to keep the bands on the rollers. They will want to slip of when you pull out. I solved this with my "Limit":

Keep in mind that you do not need a draw length increase that exceeds 30 cm (butterfly style) or 20 cm (normal draw). You can stretch the rubber to 500%. If you go ahead of 30 cm, then even in full butterly your arms are too short to draw the bands out in full.

Jörg

·
Registered
88 Posts
One serious problem is to keep the bands on the rollers. They will want to slip of when you pull out. I solved this with my "Limit":